Sleep Time for Android

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” As a kid, my answer to that question probably wasn’t typical. I wasn’t very interested in being a professional athlete, but I was interested in being a sports statistician. One of the things I remember most clearly from my 4th and 5th grade basketball seasons was keeping detailed records of each game; who scored, how many points per quarter, where on the court baskets were made. I loved it. And when I wasn’t playing a sport myself, I’d sometimes set up a CPU vs CPU sports game on SNES or N64, then make real time notes to calculate shooting percentage and other stats, then “check” myself at the end of the game.

So nerdy, but so true.

Some things don’t change, I guess. I still love working with numbers, being able to make statements about lots of data, and finding trends and patterns. I think it’s why I’m so into this Android app I discovered last week called Sleep Time.

Sleep Time uses the sensitive accelerometer in your Android to detect movements during the night. Our advanced algorithm determines your phase of sleep, and sets off the alarm at the perfect moment. You will never wake up from a deep sleep feeling groggy again.

Here’s a sample of my sleep from a few nights ago. In order to catch you at the best time to wake up, you can set up to a 30 minute range for when you need to get up. Then, analyzing the collected data from the night, the app will sound your alarm when you’re at your lightest sleep.

I love it, and definitely check out the graph every morning.

Leave a Reply

